2015 Oscar Winners & Nominees + Reviews

Best Picture

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, and James W. Skotchdopole

  • American Sniper – Clint Eastwood, Robert Lorenz, Andrew Lazar, Bradley Cooper, and Peter Morgan
  • Boyhood – Richard Linklater and Cathleen Sutherland
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales, and Jeremy Dawson
  • The Imitation Game – Nora Grossman, Ido Ostrowsky, and Teddy Schwarzman
  • Selma – Christian Colson, Oprah Winfrey, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner
  • The Theory of Everything – Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, and Anthony McCarten
  • Whiplash – Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, and David Lancaster

Best Director

Alejandro G. Iñárritu – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)


Best Actor

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything as Stephen Hawking

Best Actress

Julianne Moore – Still Alice as Alice Howland


Best Supporting Actor

J. K. Simmons – Whiplash as Terence Fletcher

Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood as Olivia Evans


Best Original Screenplay

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr., and Armando Bo

  • Boyhood – Richard Linklater
  • Foxcatcher – E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness
  • Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Imitation Game – Graham Moore from Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges

  • American Sniper – Jason Hall from American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History by Chris Kyle, Scott McEwen, and Jim DeFelice
  • Inherent Vice – Paul Thomas Anderson from Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon
  • The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten from Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen by Jane Wilde Hawking
  • Whiplash – Damien Chazelle from his short film of the same name


Best Animated Feature Film

Big Hero 6 – Don Hall, Chris Williams, and Roy Conli

  • The Boxtrolls – Anthony Stacchi, Graham Annable, and Travis Knight
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2 – Dean DeBlois and Bonnie Arnold
  • Song of the Sea – Tomm Moore and Paul Young
  • The Tale of the Princess Kaguya – Isao Takahata and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Best Foreign Language Film

Ida (Poland) in Polish – Paweł Pawlikowski

  • Leviathan (Russia) in Russian – Andrey Zvyagintsev
  • Tangerines (Estonia) in Estonian and Russian – Zaza Urushadze
  • Timbuktu (Mauritania) in French – Abderrahmane Sissako
  • Wild Tales (Argentina) in Spanish – Damián Szifron


Best Documentary – Feature

Citizenfour – Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, and Dirk Wilutzky

  • Finding Vivian Maier – John Maloof and Charlie Siskel
  • Last Days in Vietnam – Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester
  • The Salt of the Earth – Wim Wenders, Lélia Wanick Salgado, and David Rosier
  • Virunga – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best Documentary – Short Subject

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 – Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry

  • Joanna – Aneta Kopacz
  • Our Curse – Tomasz Śliwiński and Maciej Ślesicki
  • The Reaper – Gabriel Serra Arguello
  • White Earth – J. Christian Jensen


Best Live Action Short Film

The Phone Call – Mat Kirkby and James Lucas

  • Aya – Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis
  • Boogaloo and Graham – Michael Lennox and Ronan Blaney
  • Butter Lamp – Hu Wei and Julien Féret
  • Parvaneh – Talkhon Hamzavi and Stefan Eichenberger

Best Animated Short Film

Feast – Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed

  • The Bigger Picture – Daisy Jacobs and Christopher Hees
  • The Dam Keeper – Robert Kondo and Daisuke Tsutsumi
  • Me and My Moulton – Torill Kove
  • A Single Life – Joris Oprins


Best Original Score

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat

Best Original Song

“Glory” from Selma – Music and Lyric by John Stephens (John Legend) and Lonnie Lynn (Common)

  • “Everything Is Awesome” from The LEGO Movie – Music and Lyric by Shawn Patterson
  • “Grateful” from Beyond the Lights – Music and Lyric by Diane Warren
  • “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me – Music and Lyric by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond
  • “Lost Stars” from Begin Again – Music and Lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois


Best Sound Editing

American Sniper – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best Sound Mixing

Whiplash – Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, and Thomas Curley


Best Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration)

  • The Imitation Game – Maria Djurkovic (Production Design); Tatiana Macdonald (Set Decoration)
  • Interstellar – Nathan Crowley (Production Design); Gary Fettis (Set Decoration)
  • Into the Woods – Dennis Gassner (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration)
  • Mr. Turner – Suzie Davies (Production Design); Charlotte Watts (Set Decoration)

Best Cinematography

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Emmanuel Lubezki

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert Yeoman
  • Ida – Łukasz Żal and Ryszard Lenczewski
  • Mr. Turner – Dick Pope
  • Unbroken – Roger Deakins


Best Makeup and Hairstyling

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier

Best Costume Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero


Best Film Editing

Whiplash – Tom Cross

Best Visual Effects

Interstellar – Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter, and Scott Fisher

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill, and Dan Sudick
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, and Erik Winquist
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner, and Paul Corbould
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie, and Cameron Waldbauer